American Association for Laboratory Accreditation

About A2LA

The American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA) is a nonprofit, non-governmental, public service, membership society. We are the only independent (meaning that we are not governed by another, "parent" organization), non-profit, internationally-recognized accreditation body in the United States that offers a full range of comprehensive laboratory and laboratory-related accreditation services and training. Services are available to any type of organization, be it private or government. All of our accreditation programs are based on internationally-accepted criteria for competence. In addition to the accreditation of laboratories, A2LA offers programs for the accreditation of inspection bodies, proficiency testing providers, reference material producers and product certification bodies.

A2LA's Mission

Providing independent, world-class accreditation and training programs that inspire confidence in the quality of services and acceptance of results from accredited organizations.

A2LA's Vision

Accreditation accepted everywhere.

A2LA's Principles and Values

  • Uncompromising Integrity
  • Impartiality, Independence & Objectivity
  • Credibility
  • Continuous Improvement/Personal Renewal
  • Teamwork
  • Trust
  • Respect for Individual Dignity

A2LA Board of Directors

The Association is governed by its Board of Directors, which is elected by the Association Membership. The current A2LA Board of Directors includes:

Robert Whitehead Board Chair Green Arrow Labs, Inc.
Bradley Goskowicz First Vice Chair Microbiologics
David Evanson Second Vice Chair Evanson Microbiological Services, LLC
David Fischer Secretary Fischer Custom Communications, Inc.
Judith Morgan Ethics Officer Pace Analytical Services, Inc. - Corporate
Mona Grills Chair, Criteria Council Trialon Corporation Reliability Technical Center
Niel Zuern Chair, Accreditation Council Consultant
Eric Rieders Business Committee Chair National Medical Services
Dean Williams Nominating Committee Chair Duke Energy
Michael Kesselmayer Past Chair
Ryan Colker   National Institute of Building Sciences
Mark Kellogg   Children's Hospital Boston
David Kilhefner   ERA "A Waters Company"
Kerie Price   Michelin North America
George Riley  
Isabel Wright   Armacell LLC
Tony Youssef   Cisco
Lonnie Spires President A2LA
Francis Azzarto Liaison
Louis Bluhm Liaison USDA/FSIS
Tim Brooke Liaison ASTM International
Eamon Monahan Liaison Environmental Protection Agency
R. Dan Reid Liaison
James Hostetler Counsel Law Office of Jim Hostetler